Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Capital One to sponsor the League Cup

1 July 2012

The Capital One Cup set to launch 2012/13 season

The Football League has agreed a new four year title sponsorship for its showpiece cup competition, the League Cup, with leading UK credit card company Capital One.

From the start of the 2012/13 season, the 52 year old knockout competition - one of the domestic game's three major honours - will be titled the Capital One Cup.

Football League Chief Commercial Officer, Richard Heaselgrave said: 

"This is terrific news for clubs and a great way to conclude what has been a memorable domestic football season.

"I am absolutely delighted to welcome Capital One to working with The Football League, our clubs and those of the Premier League. They're a hugely respected company that really impressed us with a passion and excitement for the competition so we can't wait to build a successful, innovative partnership over the next four seasons.

"The Capital One Cup is in great shape having been re-invigorated in recent seasons by a number of memorable finals, some thrilling midweek cup football and a first glimpse of the stars of the future." 

Brian Cole, Chief Executive of Capital One UK said:

"We are very excited about getting behind the Capital One Cup and working with The Football League, the clubs, the players and the fans to build something amazing.

"The Capital One Cup gives clubs, big and small, a chance to compete on the national footballing stage and we look forward to introducing ourselves to millions of football fans across the country."

Capital One opened its UK HQ in Nottingham in 1997 and today is a top ten credit card issuer in the UK with three million customers. 

The draw for Round One of the Capital One Cup will be released on Thursday 14th June with the matches providing the curtain raiser to the new domestic season (w/c August 13), ahead of the start of the league programme on August 18. All Championship, League 1 and League 2 clubs will take part with the exception of the two highest placed clubs in last season's league tables (Bolton Wanderers and Blackburn Rovers). Both clubs will enter the competition along with 13 Premier League clubs at the second round stage (w/c August 27).

The 7 Premier League clubs that have qualified for European competition - Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, Chelsea, Newcastle United and holders Liverpool - will join the fray in the third round (w/c September 24). 

The Final of the Capital One Cup will take place at Wembley Stadium on Sunday, February 24, 2013. 

Advertisement block