Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Mitre Goal of The Year

6 February 2013

Help find our best goal of 2012!

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.



We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2012 calendar year, to include goals scored in the npower Football League, the Capital One Cup [and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy].


We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by tweeting us your best goal of the 2012 calendar year.  Once we have a list of nominations, we will be holding a poll on the official message board.


Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013.  The winner will be decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.


Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2010), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2006).


To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit


To nominate your goal of the year, tweet using @buryfcofficial with the hash tag #bfcgoal12

Advertisement block