Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Danny Mayor nominated

15 April 2015

Sky Bet League 2 player of the year shortlist announced for the Football League awards 2015

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year award, with the winner to be announced on Sunday at the 10th annual Football League Awards.



The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the scores added up to get a shortlist and an overall winner.


This nominees for this year's award, as voted for by Sky Bet League 2 managers,  are Alfie Mawson (Wycombe Wanderers), Danny Mayor (Bury) and Ryan Woods (Shrewsbury Town).


The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.  To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories.  Shortlists for the Sky Bet Players of the Year in League 1 and the Championship will be announced ahead of the weekend.  Other categories include the Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.


Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.


The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.


Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year shortlist and nominee information:


Alfie Mawson (Wycombe Wanderers)

The central defender has been a rock upon which the Chairboys have built their Sky Bet League 2 promotion challenge this season, helping them keep 14 clean sheets so far.  Alfie has contributed at the other end of the pitch too, finding the net 5 times.  Having joined on a short-term loan from Brentford as injury cover just 24 hours before the start of the season, he quickly made a name for himself with a string of fine displays, leading to his deal being extended.


Danny Mayor (Bury)

Attacking midfielder Danny has impressed in Sky Bet League 2 right throughout this season with his pace, technical ability and his stunning array of long range goals. Danny has been an ever present in Bury’s side this season, scoring 8 goals, making him one of the key reasons Bury are in the hunt for promotion.  Having picked up the club’s Players' Player of the Season award while on loan from Sheffield Wednesday last term, Danny joined the Shakers permanently in the summer and gone on to be one of the outstanding players in the division.


Ryan Woods (Shrewsbury Town)

Ryan has enjoyed superb form for Micky Mellon's Sky Bet League 2 promotion chasers this season. Aged just 21 and having come through the club’s youth ranks, he has established himself as a key member of the e Shrews’ first eleven through his accurate passing and ability to find space.  Highly rated by his manager, team-mates and supporters, Ryan’s form this season has seen him become regarded as one of the most promising young players in The Football League.


Previous Winners

2014: Gary Roberts (Chesterfield)

2013: Tom Pope (Port Vale)

2012: Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town)

2011: Ryan Lowe (Bury)

2010: Craig Dawson (Rochdale)

2009: Grant Holt (Shrewsbury Town)

2008: Keith Andrews (Milton Keynes Dons)

2007: Izale McLeod (Milton Keynes Dons)

2006: Karl Hawley (Carlisle United)


To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.



Established in 2006, The Football League Awards is an annual gala event which celebrates excellence both on and off the pitch.  The 2015 ceremony is the 10th such event, which attracts players, managers and staff from League clubs as well as sponsors, partners and those wishing to celebrate everything Football League.


Supporters will get a front row seat for Sunday’s Awards with live coverage of the ceremony being broadcast to a global online audience. Fans can watch all the action unfold by heading to and The Football League's official YouTube page. Highlights of the event will also be broadcast on Sky Sports.


The event will also be covered with live updates on social media via The Football League’s official Twitter account (@football_league) and official Facebook page (/FootballLeague).



Shortlists for the Sky Bet Players of the Year in League 1 and the Championship, Tokio Marine Club Hero award and the Capital One Supporter of the Year will be announced later this week.  Awards with also be handed out on the night for the Football Manager Team of the Decade, the Sir Tom Finney Award and Contribution to League Football.  Shortlists for the remaining categories have been announced as below:


Football League Young Player of the Year

Dele Alli (Milton Keynes Dons)

Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough)

Nathan Redmond (Norwich City)


Mitre Goal of the Year

Joe Garner – Preston North End

Rohan Ince – Brighton & Hove Albion

Yann Kermorgant – AFC Bournemouth

Andy Mangan – Shrewsbury Town

Craig Westcarr– Portsmouth


Family Club of the Year

Brighton & Hove Albion

Colchester United


Milton Keynes Dons

Plymouth Argyle



Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year

Blackburn Rovers (NORTH WEST)

Doncaster Rovers (YORKSHIRE & NORTH EAST)

Derby County (MIDLANDS)

Norwich City (EAST)

Brighton & Hove Albion (SOUTH)


PFA Player in the Community

Hope Akpan (Reading)

Elliot Omozusi (Leyton Orient)

Danny Shittu (Millwall)


LFE Apprentice of the Year



Lewis Cook (Leeds United)

Joe Gomez (Charlton Athletic)

Fred Onyedinma (Millwall)


League 1

George Cooper (Crewe Alexandra)

Giorgio Rasulo (Milton Keynes Dons)

Louis Reed (Sheffield United)


League 2

Conor Chaplin (Portsmouth)

Ben Harrison (AFC Wimbledon)

Ryan Johnson (Stevenage)

Advertisement block