Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Award for the gaffer

7 December 2015

David Flitcroft given award for Shakers promotion last season

The 35th Football Writers Association Northern Managers Awards dinner was held on Sunday evening at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hotel in Manchester.

This years event was attended by over 160 Football Writers Association members and guests.  Amongst this years year's recipients were Sam Allardyce, guest of honour who received a Lifetime Achievement award mainly for his association with northern clubs, Blackpool, Bolton, Blackburn, Newcastle and now Sunderland, Preston North End's Simon Grayson, for winning promotion with Preston last season, our own David Flitcroft for winning promotion with Bury, Graham Fenton, for winning the FA Vase with North Shields and Billy Heath, for winning the FA Trophy with North Ferriby United.
All five recipients were received inscribed crystal glass awards, decanters for the two non-league clubs, crystal footballs for Allardyce, Grayson and Flitcroft, from FWA northern chairman Paul Hetherington. 
Before the presentations video footage was shown of all five managers and last season's successful campaign and the recipients made acceptance speeches. Dave Flitcroft paid tribute to the chairman, his backroom staff and his players.
The NFWA are the only section of the Football Writers Association who specifically reward MANAGERS rather than players and at every level of the senior game, for winning either a championship, promotion or a cup competition. Previous winners include Bob Paisley, Howard Kendall, Kenny Dalglish, Roberto Mancini, Manuel Pellegrini, Joe Royle, Ron Atkinson, Graeme Souness, Rafa Benitez, Gerard Houllier, Roy Keane, Kevin Keegan, David Moyes, Sean Dyche and on numerous occasions Sir Alex Ferguson.
Previous award winners from BURY are Martin Dobson in 1985, Stan Ternent in 1997 and Richie Barker in 2011

Advertisement block